About the project
Mihály Pollack was commissioned to start construction in 1829. This building, the predecessor of today's Vigadó, proved to be one of the finest pieces of neo-classical architecture in Pest, known as the Redoute. The Redoute, however, was to have a short career. In May 1849, it fell victim to the artillery fire of invading Austrian troops. In 1859, Frigyes Feszl was commissioned to design a new building and he aimed to create a Hungarian style. The new edifice, now called Vigadó, opened in 1864. The building of the Vigadó had been seriously damaged in World War II, and again its future was doubtful. However, in 1954, the Vigadó building was declared a National Monument. Finally, in 1968, construction work started and several parts were demolished for complete transformation. The rebuilt Vigadó reopened to the public on 16 March 2014.
About the solution
Schrack Seconet's state-of the art fire alarm system now protects the Vigadó, a true pearl on the bank of Danube River. The new system includes 660 optical smoke detectors, connected to the Integral fire alarm control panel, which provide fire protection for the entire building. Linear smoke detectors with motorised control have been installed in the historic ceremonial hall, which boasts a very high ceiling. This unique solution offers the possibility of lowering it from the attic space, with the use of steel cables, for easier maintenance. Emergency radio transmitter now also support communication with the deployment force. The new fire alarm system controls and operates the access control, burglary system and CCTV. It also mutes the sound system, in case of fire, to allow uninterrupted sirens to be heard clearly.